Chapter 1.30 – Trust me, friend

After getting the kids ready for school and doing a couple of chores, Equinus decides it is a good day to talk to Viela about that strange blue light Equinus saw at Latoya’s birthday. He takes his time getting ready before heading over to Newcrest in the early afternoon.

06-18-16_12-30-38 AM_result

On arrival, Equinus is greeted heartily by Viela. Being old friends Equinus doesn’t want to rush things so he accepts a drink first when invited inside. Viela excuses himself as he proposes to get a good bottle of nectar from the basement. “Enjoy the music; settle in. I’ll be back.” Viela smiles as he walks out the door.

06-18-16_12-48-52 AM_result

Equinus listens to the music but he corrects himself as he starts to dance. “I’m not here to get my groove on or drink nectar. No Equinus, stay focused now. You know why you’re here.” He stops dancing and follows Viela to the basement.

06-18-16_12-49-56 AM_result

After Viela has entered and headed left into the basement, Equinus hears two more doors opening and closing. He follows Viela inside. It is a part of Viela’s home Equinus has never seen before.

06-18-16_12-52-15 AM_result

As he enters, Equinus sees another door to his right hand. Viela must be behind that door. Looking around the gray room he is standing in, Equinus gets confused. It’s a room filled with all sorts of strange devices and a desk with an odd looking computer. Why would a lawyer need this equipment? Equinus heads over to the desk and sits behind the computer.

06-18-16_12-56-47 AM_result

Randomly clicking some files, he stumbles on what seem to be notations. The notes are written in characters, he can’t decipher. It all looks alien to Equinus.

Eeq alien

Then, he hears a door behind him open. Viela stands in the doorway; a bottle of nectar in hand. “Ah, old man, you found my sci-fi room. Were you getting impatient and went looking to play an old fashioned game of blicblock while waiting for that nectar?” Viela asks him.

06-18-16_12-57-14 AM_result

For a moment Equinus freezes but then he pulls himself together and says: “Look Viela, I’ve come to realize that you know a whole lot about me and my family but I don’t know anything about you. You stay young while others age and you don’t tell me why. If I ask you anything you hesitate to answer at all. Come to think of it, I don’t even know your first name.” Equinus pauses before he continues: “I want my family to be safe and in good hands, you know that. That is what it’s all about.”

After this rather polite start, Equinus continues more to the point: “I saw you do something on Latoya’s birthday and I need to know what that was; that strange blue light. But above all, I need to know if my family’s safe in your hands.”

06-18-16_12-53-49 AM_result

Viela sighs: “Yes, of course, your family’s safe, Equinus. I can’t tell you much more than that or I’m in serious trouble. You’ll have to figure this one out yourself, old friend. Again I emphasize, I promise you your family’s safe. I’ve always looked out for you.”

Viela looks distressed as he continues: “Do you remember the package on my desk the day you signed the contract? Your family will receive that very box when your boys are all young adults. This will grant you some of the information you seek. I can’t tell you more, sorry.”

06-18-16_12-54-09 AM_result

“I very well might be gone by then, you realize that, my friend?” Equinus says, “But if you swear to keep my entire family safe, Agnes, the boys, even including Lisa, it might have to do, for their sake. You have never shown me you can’t be trusted. But you don’t fool me either. You’re answering to much more than my uncle’s last wishes and I don’t know whether everything you’re told to do is in our best interest. So I’m keeping my eye on you, dear friend.” Equinus concludes.

“I’m glad you feel that way, Equinus. But please, as a friend I ask you, keep that trust alive for the time being. I’ll continue doing my best to deserve your trust, old friend. To ensure you that I mean to be as open as I’m allowed to be; my first name is Yug.” Viela replies.

06-18-16_12-55-32 AM_result

Equinus feels relieved and hugs Viela on a whim. The two old friends then walk outside and share that fine bottle of nectar in the afternoon’s sun. Leaving Newcrest around dinnertime Equinus believes Viela will continue to work for him rather than against him. Because ever since Equinus has set foot in this new world, Viela has been his lawyer, wingman, and trusted friend. So he’s a little odd and even capable of shining blue rays of lights at sims. He however never crosses Equinus or the ones he loves and so Equinus is once again reassured.

 

Previous chapter | Next chapter

 

9 thoughts on “Chapter 1.30 – Trust me, friend

  1. Mastress Alita says:

    Hahaha, the “sci-fi room”. ^_^ I always love how you seem to capture just the perfect thought bubbles… and that expression on Equinus’s face when he’s looking at the computer and his eyes are all bugged out is priceless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Twiggy says:

      Thank you! That comes as such a compliment, Sara. I try to stage situations without posing sims. It always feels as a small victory yet surprise if a thought bubble comes up that compliments the story so well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Simsophonique says:

        Me too because we’re human we had raised up for being prudent, they are troll they have an other mentality , cupidity and stupidity rules their life. Despite the boys have a casual everyday life while their youth.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

