Missing you

I wish you were here, dad. I miss having you around. It’s a totally different me I look back on now but I am so blessed that you were always there for me; unchanged. It has been almost a year now since you’ve been gone. I still think about you often. Time for bed now though if I want to cover good ground tomorrow. Good night up there, dad.

1788546_orig


That sure was an invigorating hike and now that I already set up camp, I can unwind a little; grab a snack, a book, my guitar perhaps. Oh, wouldn’t it be great if dad was here with me? How I wished my first overnight camping trip after my medical rehabilitation would have been with dad. Damn the Maker for taking him too soon to witness this new life! Although I do hope he gets to live life a little through me now.

I was at the library last week, dad. Would you know, when I enter the library nowadays I always think of you? The smell of books reminds me of your old study. I wanted to take some of your books to give shelter in my bookcase after you were gone but donated them all to the library instead. I want more sims to be able to celebrate your life, your work. What better way and without regret, I might add. I saw last week they display your guitar books prominently in their collection. I hope you’re proud. It sure means a lot to me.

9210550_orig

You were my tutor in so many ways, dad. You taught me to play the guitar too; like you taught so many others. I can’t tell you enough how happy I am you did! The band is booked solid for the rest of the year with several festivals lined up. Sure, I know what you would say; it’s all me. But although I draw some attention, you are the one that made my life to what it is today. Ever since I can stand, talk and think you were my biggest fan and supporter.

3433036_orig1

My deepest respect and adoration for you took a leap forward when I started high school though. I thank you for the way you shaped me, dad. For the life lessons you taught back then even if I didn’t see it at the time. It had been you and me since childhood. I remember spending so many afternoons with you at the park having deep conversations about life, love, respect and so much more from a young age on. You always gave me stuff to think about.

You were there during the bad times too. In my childhood I had always been withdrawn. I’m sorry this escalated during my teens though; when I didn’t know where to turn to anymore. There are no proper excuses for shutting you out like that. Hiding my true self, I had been lying to you too. You’re the one sim that never turned his back on me but I was scared to let you in on my deepest secrets. It wasn’t until that one night at the park, a bit more matured, you made me realize I was being a dork and had to let you in.

5345653_orig1

It was an eye opening night for sure and not just to me. But you were the most understanding parent a kid could wish for and backed me up; even then. I regret never saying that out loud when I had the chance.

Everything progressed very quickly after that. When you were in excruciating pains, examined and diagnosed soon after, you and I started our treatments. If only the outcome on both were equally satisfying as my treatment turns out to be.

8869309_orig

Oh shoot, my sausages… get them off the grill now, Aden! We don’t want them charred, just crisp, hey dad? Ha, I can get used to that name! Everything I do seems so normal and familiar of course and yet every single act I perform feels new and uncharted. It’s a funny thing. At least you got to name me twice, right?…

God, I remember you taking me to my first appointment in that old truck. I had been so nervous in the weeks prior. You are the greatest for taking me camping the weekend before. You made me have a look into what it is again I was looking forward to.

Your trusty truck always took us safely to where we wanted to go; all our camping sites, appointments and what not. I wish it could have taken us both to my last appointment in good health too. You have always been my biggest inspiration, dad!

4239003_orig2.png

Oh, I’m keeping the truck by the way. With the money you left me, in you honor, I’m going to give it that overhaul you always wanted. Because that old truck feels like a warm, warn jacket to me I just can’t distance myself of. Kinda like the one you always used to wear, right?

Yup, that old truck helps shape me now like you have always done in my time with you. It took me up in the mountains last week and brought me here now too, you know! I love being outdoors. With the band’s many gigs it is good having a hobby like this. It grounds me like you used to and reminds me of my time with you.

4834448_orig

Would you believe, dad, I even took up fishing again recently?! Ha, another thing you taught me. Something I stopped doing during my teens when I was dodging you. Though there is not a single sim in the entire world I would rather be fishing with now.

6877211_orig1

Missing you…

 

The foregoing story, that I hope you’ve enjoyed reading, is an entry for the April 2016’s edition of Carewren123’s  Short Story Challenge over on the Sims US Forum. Check it out for more awesome short stories! (after you are done checking this site of course) 😀

16 thoughts on “Missing you

  1. cully_c says:

    What a great story! I love how you used these screenshots, I took one look at them and thought ‘how would I ever make this mis-matched lot into a tale’ but you have managed it perfectly. And such a nice little twist.
    Beautiful!

    Like

    1. Twiggy says:

      Thank you! The shots seem to be all over the place and that is what interested me to write about set 1. I knew looking at set 2 that wasn’t my cup o’ tea. The shots used all fell into place only a few days ago. 🙂

      Like

    1. Twiggy says:

      Aw, thank you! Havent sat down to read all the entries yet but wow you are making me even more curious now. Gonna binge read somewhere this weekend. Looking forward to it already 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lovesstorms says:

    What an interesting take on the pictures! I loved this set the most because there was so much potential for so many directions. This was one I hadn’t thought about, but it definitely worked. The letter was sweet and it’s funny how this story could have worked for May’s theme as well. Awesome job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Twiggy says:

      Thank you. lovesstorms! It is so awesome to see this set in completely different short stories also. April’s theme was fun to do although ‘Missing You’ would have indeed worked with May’s theme also, come to think of it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. raerei says:

    If I’m right, Aden is his name now? Or did I misread the subtext? I hope not. Either way I really like the rambly nature of the letter. It gits well with the scattered nature of the screenshots!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Twiggy says:

      You are absolutely correct on the subtext here. Yes, his name is Aden now 🙂 Thank you! I too find the fleeting thoughts and memories of Aden’s orphaned soul suit these screenshots.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

